Posts Tagged Lincoln Child

VJ Books Begins Presale of Signed Limited Edition Copies of The Terror by Author Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons, the award-winning author of Olympos, Ilium, and The Hyperion Cantos, has received the Hugo Award, the World Fantasy Award, the Bram Stoker Award, and British Science Fiction & Fantasy Awards, among many others.

Signed limited edition copies of The Terror by Dan Simmons are now available for pre-order through VJ Books (  This special edition printing is limited to 500 signed numbered copies. 


Bestselling author Lincoln Child says, “The Terror is nothing less than a revelation. Dan Simmons is a giant among novelists, and I am in awe of his achievement.”

 The story begins in the spring of 1845; Sir John Franklin leads a company of two ships and 130 men on a hazardous voyage to the remote, uncharted Arctic. His goal: to locate and map the legendary Northwest Passage. Two years later, the expedition, which began in a spirit of optimism and high purpose, faces disaster. Franklin is dead. The two ships — the Erebus and the Terror — are hopelessly trapped by gigantic, shifting ice floes. Supplies are dwindling, and the crews struggle daily against lethal, unimaginably frigid conditions. And something — some Thing — is stalking the survivors, spreading death, suffering, and chaos in its remorseless wake.

About Dan Simmons:  Dan’s first published story appeared on Feb. 15, 1982, the day his daughter, Jane Kathryn, was born.  He’s always attributed that coincidence to “helping in keeping things in perspective when it comes to the relative importance of writing and life.”

Simmons has been a full-time writer since 1987 and lives along the Front Range of Colorado — in the same town where he taught for 14 years — with his wife, Karen, his daughter, Jane, (when she’s home from Hamilton College) and their Pembroke Welsh Corgi, Fergie. He does much of his writing at Windwalker — their mountain property and cabin at 8,400 feet of altitude at the base of the Continental Divide, just south of Rocky Mountain National Park. An 8-ft.-tall sculpture of the Shrike — a thorned and frightening character from the four Hyperion/Endymion novels — was sculpted by an ex-student and friend, Clee Richeson, and the sculpture

About VJ Books:  VJ Books started in 1998 and soon learned that their customer was foremost a collector.  Their customers sought collector grade first edition books, preferably autographed by the author.  In an effort to respond to this demand, VJ Books has developed relationships with publishers, authors and agents to provide a continuous supply of new titles for their customers.


Each month VJ Books’ customers are able to choose from dozens of author signed books from some of the most exciting, highly acclaimed authors in the areas of mystery, suspense, sci-fi and modern literature. Sign up for VJ Books weekly newsletter at:


In Cemetary Dance by Preston/Child Murder Leads to Mystery Leads to Unnatural Magic

A review by Nikki from Texas!

All I can say is OMG. In the newest of the Pendergast series books, there is no shortage of personality in the eccentric character we’ve come to adore. Murder leads to mystery leads to unnatural magic. As sad as it was to lose one of the characters we have so long-enjoyed, this book is one of the top contenders, if not THE top contender in the series. I wish I could have read it at a slower pace…but I simply couldn’t stop! If you are new to the series, this book can be read as a stand-alone, IMO. Even so, many people go back and read the others as to embellish the characters in their minds a bit more.  Either way, THIS book “c’est magie”.  Preston & Child have done it again. (See other reviews by Nikki)

See signed and collectible books by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child at!

Dance of Death – Series Within a Series for the Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child Fans

Another Review by Nikki C. in Texas!

Dance of Death is a series  within the Pendergast series. It’s book 2 of the Diogenes Trilogy, preceded by Brimstone. Agent Pendergast faces what seems to be his ONLY nemesis, his own brother. While Brimstone makes some light of Diogenes Pendergast, Dance of Death is the start of the real action.Agent Pendergast seems to have the upper hand in every case, until a brother thought dead appears and carries out a series of grotesque murders only capable by. These murders set the stage for the most well-planned revenge against Agent Pendergast. Each step is methodical and painstakingly timed to lead Agent Pendergast down the slaughter chute. Many of the characters from the Pendergast series are re-united in this thrilling novel of revenge. We also get the treat of exploring more of the fascinating and eccentric Pendergast family tree. I must forewarn you that to learn the grand finale behind the plans of Diogenes, you MUST read the last book in the Trilogy  Book of the Dead.

Order this signed title today!

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child on first-ever tour for Cemetery Dance

Preston and Child are on a first-ever, two-week, 24-city tour aboard a custom bus that sports a wrap of the book jacket.  This way they can appear together at every signing; formerly, they appeared together only selectively, with Preston traveling farther afield on his own.  Their fans, reporst the publisher, “will travel great distances to get to see them together, let alone get their signatures.”  The duo is blogging every day – complete with pictures – about the tour, the crowds and the bus at  There are 241,000 copies in print.

VJ Books has an extensive inventory of Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child books signed by BOTH AUTHORS!

(Publisher’s Weekly, May 25)