Posts Tagged Mystery Writers of America

Mystery Writers of America Names 2009 Grand Master Award

(, Nov 20)

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced that the organization will name James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton its 2009 Grand Masters in honor of the Bicentennial of Edgar Allan Poe’s birth next year. Not since 1978 has the organization presented dual Grand Masters.

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in the mystery genre and was established to acknowledge important contributions to the genre, as well as significant output of consistently high-quality material. The awards will be presented at the 63rd Annual Edgar(R) Awards banquet on Thursday April 30, 2009 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

According to MWA executive vice president Harry Hunsicker, the Edgar Awards — or “Edgars,” as they are commonly known — are named after Edgar Allan Poe, whose 200th birthday will be marked next year. “One of the great pleasures of my tenure at the helm of MWA has been informing two of the most talented writers on the planet that they have been selected as (more…)

Minnesota Crime Wave’ writers coming to Ashford University

(Clinton Herald, Nov. 18)

CLINTON — “The Minnesota Crime Wave,” a trio of mystery writers, will make a stop at Ashford University Thursday.

William Kent “Iceman” Krueger, Ellen “Murder Most Fowl” Hart and Carl “Sailor” Brookins will present a writers’ workshop from 1 to 2:15 p.m. in the Regis Conference Room and a “Meet the Authors Crime Wave Program” at 7 p.m. in Ashford’s Mullany Theater.

Sponsored by the Clinton Public Library, the Clinton County Association of Public Libraries and Ashford University, the events are free and open to the public. For more information on the writers’ workshop, contact Kristin Abraham, Assistant Professor of English, at 242-4023, ext. 1310.

About the Writers

In the spring of 2008, the three writers — who have traveled together for eight years promoting their individual novels as “The Minnesota Crime Wave” — began a monthly TV show in Minnesota called “The Minnesota Crime Wave Presents.” Segments are available on YouTube as well as on AOL video. Between them, the members of this “gang” of writers have written 30 crime novels and won more than 16 national and regional awards.

William Krueger has published seven books in the Cork O’Connor mystery series, which is set in the great Northwoods of Minnesota. In 2005 and 2006, his novels “Blood Hollow” and “Mercy Falls” received the Anthony Award for Best Novel of the Year. Released in 2007, “Thunder Bay” won the (more…)