VJ Books Blog


Tualatin, Oregon – September 1, 2010 – VJ Books (http://www.vjbooks.com) honors bestselling thriller writer John Sandford as September 2010 Favorite Author.

John Sandford was born John Camp on February 23, 1944, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He attended the public schools in Cedar Rapids.  In 1966, Sandford graduated from the University of Iowa with a bachelor’s degree in American Studies.  John Sandford is widely recognized for his Prey novel series featuring Lucas Davenport.  Sandford has written more than 30 fiction novels and two non-fiction books.

The Washington Post says that “John Sandford is at the top of his game”.

“In addition to the twenty novels featuring Lucas Davenport, he has written four in the Kidd series (two as Camp, two as Sandford), two showing us the razor-edge world of the Night Crew, and more recently four books featuring Virgil Flowers, a gun-totin’ cop who looks, dresses, and acts a lot more like a road-weary drifter than your stereotypical bullet-headed badge-wearer” says John Hutchinson of VJ Books.  “John Sandford has been writing brilliantly suspenseful, consistently surprising thrillers filled with rich characters and exceptional drama since 1989, three years after winning the Pulitzer Prize as a features reporter for the Pioneer Press in St. Paul.”

Sandford’s latest novel, Bad Blood, is filled with the brilliant plotting and compulsively readable prose that are John Sandford’s hallmarks.  Bad Blood is another masterpiece by one of our very best suspense writers.

A chronological list of John Sandford books and series is shown below.

The Prey Series:  Rules of Prey (1989), Shadow Prey (1990), Eyes of Prey (1991), Silent Prey (1992), Winter Prey (1993), Night Prey (1994), Mind Prey (1995), Sudden Prey (1996), Secret Prey (1998), Certain Prey (1999), Easy Prey (2000), Chosen Prey (2001), Mortal Prey (2002), Naked Prey (2003), Hidden Prey (2004), Broken Prey (2005), Invisible Prey (2007), Phantom Prey (2008), Wicked Prey (2009), Storm Prey (2010)

The Virgil Flowers Series:  Dark of the Moon (2007), Heat Lightning (2008), Rough Country (2009), Bad Blood (September 2010: Putnam)

The Kidd Series:  The Fool’s Run (1989), The Empress File (1991), The Devil’s Code (2000), The Hanged Man’s Song (2003)

Standalone Novels:  Dead Watch (2006), The Night Crew (1997)