VJ Books Blog

Crescent Dawn by Clive Cussler and Dirk Cussler

Crescent Dawn Clive Cussler Dirk CusslerFilled with the dazzling suspense and breathtaking action that are Clive Cussler‘s trademarks, Crescent Dawn is a stunning new Dirk Pitt novel from the grand master of adventure. Crescent Dawn is the fourth collaboration between Cussler and his son Dirk, following Black Wind, Treasure of Khan, and Arctic Drift.

In A.D. 327, a Roman galley barely escapes a pirate attack with its extraordinary cargo. In 1916, a British warship mysteriously explodes in the middle of the North Sea. In the present day, a cluster of important mosques in Turkey and Egypt are wracked by explosions. Does anything tie them together? NUMA director Dirk Pitt is about to find out, as Roman artifacts discovered in Turkey and Israel unnervingly connect to the rise of a fundamentalist movement determined to restore the glory of the Ottoman Empire, and to the existence of a mysterious “manifest,” lost long ago, which if discovered again just may change the history of the world as we know it.

Cussler’s novels, using fantastic spectacles and outlandish plot devices, reflect the anything-goes quality of James Bond or Indiana Jones. Pitt himself is a larger-than-life hero who is supported by a long list of supporting characters including his side-kick (since elementary school) Al Giordino, and the cigar smoking NUMA boss, turned Vice Present, Admiral James Sandecker.

“Fans have been patiently waiting for the new Dirk Pitt novel”, says John Hutchinson at VJ Books, “. . . and they will not be disappointed. Crescent Dawn is a true tour de force.”

Clive Cussler has had more than… seventeen consecutive titles reach The New York Times fiction best-seller list. In 2010 three Cussler titles have already climbed to the top of the charts, The Silent Sea (with Jack Dubrul), The Spy (with Justin Scott), and Lost Empire (with Grant Blackwood). Crescent Dawn is sure to round out the year as complete string of hits for the ever popular Cussler brand.

Born July 15, 1931 Cussler now authors several adventure series. In additional to the Dirk Pitt books are other NUMA FILES (with Paul Kemprecos) stories featuring Kurt Austin, Team Leader of NUMA’s Special Assignments. THE OREGON FILES (with Jack DuBrul), sails under the leadership of Juan Cabrillo, and professional treasure hunters Sam and Remi Fargo, keep us on the edge of our seat in stories co-written by Grant Blackwood. Isaac Bell, the brilliant investigator for the Van Dorn Detective agency is the hero of early 20th century adventures co-authored by Justin Scott.

The ever prolific Cussler still writes solo titles including his children’s titles, most recently The Adventures of Hotsy Totsy.

Cussler is also the founder and chair of the true life The National Underwater and Marine Agency (NUMA), and has discovered more than sixty shipwreck sites. NUMA discovered, among other shipwrecks, the Confederate submarine Hunley, The RMS Carpathis, the ship famed for being the first to come to the aid of Titanic survivors, The Mary Celeste, the famed ghost ship that was found abandoned with cargo intact, and The Manassas, the first ironclad of the civil war.

VJ Books is offering copies of Crescent Dawn signed by both Clive and Dirk Cussler in four different states. In addition to the just released US Putnam hardcover, VJ Books also offers the UK edition published by Michael Joseph Publishers, and two limited editions produced by Norwood Press. The limited editions are handcrafted books with marbled papers and slipcases available in lettered and numbered varieties.

Cussler Series –

Pitt Novels

The Mediterranean Caper (1973), Iceberg (1975), Raise the Titanic! (1976), Vixen 03 (1978), Night Probe! (1981), Pacific Vortex! (1983), Deep Six (1984), Cyclops (1986), Treasure (1988), Dragon (1990), Sahara (1992), Inca Gold (1994), Shock Wave (1996), Flood Tide (1997), Atlantis Found (1999), Valhalla Rising (2001), Trojan Odyssey (2003), Black Wind (2004). Treasure of Khan (2006), Arctic Drift (2008), and Crescent Dawn (2010)

NUMA Files

Serpent (1999), Blue Gold (2000), Fire Ice (2002), White Death (2003), Lost City (2004), Polar Shift (2005), The Navigator (2007) and Medusa (2009)

The Oregon Files

Golden Buddha (2003), Sacred Stone (2004), Dark Watch (2005), Skeleton Coast (2006), Plague Ship (2008), Corsair (2009), The Silent Sea (2010) and the upcoming The Jungle (March 8, 2011)

Isaac Bell Tales

The Chase (2007), The Wrecker (2009), and The Spy (2010)

Fargo Adventures

Spartan Gold (2009), Lost Empire (2010) and the upcoming The Kingdom (June, 2011)