VJ Books Blog

Book Review
John Hutchinson


I was first introduced to William R. Forstchen with the books he co-authored with Newt

Gingrich. Together they produced the bestselling series of historical novels including VALLEY



In 2009 Forstchen released ONE SECOND AFTER, a story of one man’s struggle to save his family

and his small North Carolina town after America is hit with a high altitude EMP that sends

America back to the dark ages. Months before publication, One Second After was cited on the

floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, alerting us all to a real weapon, which if

used by an enemy could destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. 


The book was an instant hit, and readers were eager to learn more about John Matherson and

the people of Black Mountain, N.C. In 2015 ONE YEAR AFTER begins one year after One Second

After ends, two years since nuclear weapons were detonated above the United States and

brought America to its knees. After months of suffering starvation, war, and countless deaths,

the survivors of Black Mountain, North Carolina, begin to recover some of the technology and

supplies they had once taken for granted, like electricity, communications, and medicine. When

a “federal administrator” arrives in a nearby city, they dare to hope that a new national

government is finally emerging. Matherson must lead his small town and his rag tag militia

against a ruthless federal administrator with plans of a hostile takeover of Black Mountain and

its people.


And now in the highly-anticipated follow-up, THE FINAL DAY returns us to Black Mountain, as

the people of this small community continue to rebuild after the EMP that destroyed the

country, killing millions and leaving the survivors in a dark world, filled with fear, hunger and



After defeating the illegitimate federal government, Matherson and his community have

returned to their task of restoring some of the technology they had taken for granted before

the EMP attack. He receives a cryptic message from his former commanding general and close

friend, and soon learns that he has been labeled a trouble maker by the new power elite base

in Bluemont, VA. The new federal government has deployed soldiers to seize control of the

surviving communities and to suppress rebellion.


General Bob Scales, Matherson’s old commanding officer has been tasked with bringing

Matherson in – dead or alive. As the story unwinds the power of friendship between the two

old warriors is tested as they discover some revealing truths about the new government and

the future of America.


THE FINAL DAY is an enthralling, action filled conclusion to the series. These post apocalyptic

thrillers clearly demonstrate how moral strength of character can lead us from the darkness.

Forstchen has created a story of warning that needed to be told, and he does so in a riveting,

entertaining, and thrilling manner.


Norwood Press is planning to create a special boxed set of William R. Forstchen’s trilogy. Titled

THE DAY, this three book set will include ONE SECOND AFTER, ONE YEAR AFTER, and THE FINAL

DAY. It will be housed in a custom slipcase designed to hold all three books. This special

edition will be extremely limited, so reserve your set today.


And don’t miss Modern Signed Books on BlogTalkRadio, as Rodger Nichols discusses THE FINAL

DAY with William R. Forstchen.

Find it at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/modernsignedbooks/2017/02/17/william-r- forstchen-

discusses-his- new-book- the-final- day– msb