Archive for the Clive Cussler Category

Author News: Phil Mercer and the Jungle with Jack DuBrul

Jack DuBrulToday is the official laydown date for THE JUNGLE, so I thought I’d give Jack DuBrul a call and see how he feels about his latest collaboration with Clive Cussler. It seemed a shame to take him away from his writing, but I always enjoy talking with him.

Jack says that THE JUNGLE is probably his favorite Oregon Files book, and he sounds pleased with the twist he adds to the ending of the story.

From the “news fit to print” category, Phil Mercer lives! Jack is “hard” at work on the long awaited new Phil Mercer story. He is unwilling to share his working title, but did say that I can report that the story revolves around the global warming controversy, and starts with the long lost aviation pioneer, Amelia Earhart. As a long time fan of the series I was pleased to learn last fall that Jack would take a break from the Oregon Files to flesh out the Mercer tale that has been rattling around in his head for a couple of years.

So save a weekend sometime in the months ahead to head back to Tiny’s Bar, where you can slide onto a stool next to Harry White, order a Vodka Gimlet and wait for Phil Mercer to make an appearance.

I have it on good authority that he is on his way.

– John

VJ Books Announces the Return of Dirk Pitt in Clive Cussler’s “Crescent Dawn”

Crescent Dawn by Clive Cussler and Dirk Cussler

Crescent Dawn Clive Cussler Dirk CusslerFilled with the dazzling suspense and breathtaking action that are Clive Cussler‘s trademarks, Crescent Dawn is a stunning new Dirk Pitt novel from the grand master of adventure. Crescent Dawn is the fourth collaboration between Cussler and his son Dirk, following Black Wind, Treasure of Khan, and Arctic Drift.

In A.D. 327, a Roman galley barely escapes a pirate attack with its extraordinary cargo. In 1916, a British warship mysteriously explodes in the middle of the North Sea. In the present day, a cluster of important mosques in Turkey and Egypt are wracked by explosions. Does anything tie them together? NUMA director Dirk Pitt is about to find out, as Roman artifacts discovered in Turkey and Israel unnervingly connect to the rise of a fundamentalist movement determined to restore the glory of the Ottoman Empire, and to the existence of a mysterious “manifest,” lost long ago, which if discovered again just may change the history of the world as we know it.

Cussler’s novels, using fantastic spectacles and outlandish plot devices, reflect the anything-goes quality of James Bond or Indiana Jones. Pitt himself is a larger-than-life hero who is supported by a long list of supporting characters including his side-kick (since elementary school) Al Giordino, and the cigar smoking NUMA boss, turned Vice Present, Admiral James Sandecker.

“Fans have been patiently waiting for the new Dirk Pitt novel”, says John Hutchinson at VJ Books, “. . . and they will not be disappointed. Crescent Dawn is a true tour de force.”

Clive Cussler has had more than… (more…)

Now in Stock – Ready to Ship!

Now in Stock! VJ Books has received: Dan Wells – Mr. Monster, Iris Johansen – Chasing the Night,  Steve Alten – Grim Reaper, Alan M. Dershowitz – Trials of Zion, Clive Cussler – The Spy (UK), Sherrilyn Kenyon – No Mercy, S.J. Rozan – On the Line, Daniel Judson – Voyeur, Lee Child – Worth Dying For (also UK Edition), Michael Connelly – The Reversal (UK Edition), Gyles Brandreth – Oscar Wilde and the Nest of Vipers (UK Edition), R.J. Ellory – The Saints of New York (Uk Edition), and Anthony E. Zuiker – Dark Prophecy.

Book Synopsis – Clive Cussler Lost Empire

Book Synopsis – Clive Cussler Lost Empire

Lost Empire by Clive CusslerClive Cussler is the author of many New York Times bestsellers and is an internationally recognized authority on shipwrecks and the founder of the National Underwater and Marine Agency (NUMA).

Clive Cussler and Grant Blackwood now bring us the action-packed Lost Empire featuring treasure hunters Sam and Remi Fargo who first appeared in Cussler’s Spartan Gold (2009: Penguin).

In Lost Empire, Sam and Remi Fargo come upon a relic belonging to a long-lost Confederate ship. An anomaly about the relic sets them off chasing a mystery-but unknown to them, a much more powerful force is engaged in the same chase. Mexico’s ruling party, the ultranationalist Mexica Tenochca, is intent on finding that artifact as well, because it contains a secret that could destroy the party utterly.  Through Tanzania and Zanzibar, into the rainforests of Madagascar, and across the Indian Ocean to Indonesia and the legendary site of the 1883 Krakatoa explosion, the Fargos and their ruthless opponents pursue the hunt-but only one can win. And the penalty for failure is death.

Clive Cussler’s books have been published in more than 40 languages in more than 100 countries. See below for a chronological list of Clive Cussler books and series.

The Dirk Pitt Adventures novels

Pacific Vortex (this is the first book that Cussler wrote but it was published in 1983), Mediterranean Caper (1973), Iceberg (1975), Raise the Titanic (1976), Vixen 03 (1978), Night Probe (1981), Deep Six (1984), Cyclops (1986), Treasure (1988), Dragon (1990), Sahara (1992), Inca Gold (1994), Shock Wave (1996), Flood Tide (1997), Atlantis Found (1999), Valhalla Rising (2001), Trojan Odyssey (2003) and Black Wind (2004), Treasure of Khan (2006), and Arctic Drift (2008).  Crescent Dawn, the latest of The Dirk Pitt Adventures, is set to release November 2010.

The NUMA Files novels

Serpent (1999), Blue Gold (2000), Fire Ice (2002), White Death (2003), Lost City (2004), Polar Shift (2005), The Navigator (2007), and Medusa (2009)

The Oregon Files novels

Golden Buddha (2003), Sacred Stone (2004), Dark Watch (2005), Skeleton Coast (2006), Plague Ship (2008), Corsair (2009), and The Silent Sea (2010)

The Isaac Bell Detective novels

The Chase (2007), The Wrecker (2009), and The Spy (2010)

The Fargo Adventure novels

Spartan Gold (2009) and Lost Empire (2010)

Clive Cussler has also written single books in Non-Fiction and Children Classics.  His Non-Fiction books include The Sea Hunters, The Sea Hunters II and Clive Cussler and Dirk Pitt Revealed.  His stand-alone Children Classics include The Adventures of Vin Fiz (2009) and The Adventures of Hotsy Totsy (2010).

Grant Blackwood has written three espionage thrillers including The End of Enemies, The Wall of Night, and An Echo of War in addition to co-authoring Spartan Gold and Lost Empire with Clive Cussler.